Update

Book Queue

Happy Thursday! I have been in a bit of a book slump. Maybe because the snow is finally melting or maybe I just need a book break, if there is such a thing.

I have a book queue. That is something I never though I would have when starting this blog. I have so many books to read that it is a bit overwhelming. I have some NetGalley ARCs, some books provided by authors and books I read for fun that are starting to pile up! So, below are all the books that I have yet to get through. If you graciously sent me one of these books and I haven’t reviewed as of yet, I’ll hopefully get to it soon (as always, all thoughts and reviews are my own)😊. I guess this is also a TBR for March. So welcome to my first ever Book Queue/March to be read 📚❤️

Everless by Sara Holland

I am SO excited to read this! Right now I’m reading, That Inevitable Victorian Thing, but after I finish that this is my next pick! YA fantasy where time is currency? Sign me up!

32320661

(Goodreads) In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

A Court if Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I feel like everyone has read this but me and I am going to jump on the bandwagon. I love fairytales and hope this will not disappoint!

img_2260

(Goodreads) Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

Sea of a Thousand Words by Christine Wallace

I feel like this will be a dystopian ‘What-if’ type of book! I don’t know much about this book so going in with fresh eyes, again, hopefully in March.

img_2261

(Goodreads) In the not-so-distant future, resources are scarce and land is disappearing. This global crisis has created the largest population migration in history as desperate people look for new homes. Meanwhile, powerful governments close their doors, hiring a ruthless organization called HighTower to lock down the borders. HighTower secretly develops a weaponized gene drive enzyme with the potential to eliminate entire migrant populations-a callous form of “pest control.” On a remote island in the Pacific Northwest, a young woman discovers a shipwrecked scientist. With help from her friends, she rescues him-only to learn that he is a fugitive with a deadly secret. Pursued by dangerous agents, they set out to expose the governments’ plot and destroy the enzyme before it can be used against innocent people. A story for our times, Sea of a Thousand Words begs the question, “Who deserves to inherit our earth?” Every page is charged with brilliant imagery and a rich cast of characters-instantly alive and relatable. 

Circe by Madeline Miller

I am beyond excited to get to this book. I took classics in university and just love greek and roman mythology!

img_2263

(Goodreads) In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe is a strange child–not powerful, like her father, nor viciously alluring like her mother. Turning to the world of mortals for companionship, she discovers that she does possess power–the power of witchcraft, which can transform rivals into monsters and menace the gods themselves.

Threatened, Zeus banishes her to a deserted island, where she hones her occult craft, tames wild beasts and crosses paths with many of the most famous figures in all of mythology, including the Minotaur, Daedalus and his doomed son Icarus, the murderous Medea, and, of course, wily Odysseus.
But there is danger, too, for a woman who stands alone, and Circe unwittingly draws the wrath of both men and gods, ultimately finding herself pitted against one of the most terrifying and vengeful of the Olympians. To protect what she loves most, Circe must summon all her strength and choose, once and for all, whether she belongs with the gods she is born from, or the mortals she has come to love.

With unforgettably vivid characters, mesmerizing language and page-turning suspense, Circe is a triumph of storytelling, an intoxicating epic of family rivalry, palace intrigue, love and loss, as well as a celebration of indomitable female strength in a man’s world.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

This book also goes under the name of The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle. I love murder-mysteries and am excited to unravel the mystery!

35967101

(Goodreads) At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

 

Olympian Challenger by Astrid Arditi

As above, I love mythology! This is to be a series and I have high hopes for it!

38104178

(Goodreads) A hero’s tournament. A defiant contender. Does one girl have the courage to take on Mount Olympus?

 

Hope’s world doesn’t have room for heroes. She barely has time for schoolwork, swim team, and taking care of her ailing mother. But when she’s invited to a mysterious tournament, the all-powerful hosts won’t take no for an answer.

Transported to Mount Olympus, Hope comes face to face with her new trainers—the pantheon of Greek gods. While other contenders train hard to gain a fighting edge, Hope searches for a way out. Instead, she finds a gorgeous shadow god who may just convince her to stay…

As each round unfolds, the ultimate prize draws closer—the granting of her heart’s deepest desire. If she survives the final challenge, her mother’s cure would be within reach…but only if Hope can ignore the tournament’s dark purpose.

Olympian Challenger is the first book in a bold YA urban fantasy trilogy. If you like Greek mythology, forbidden romance, and feats of courage, then you’ll love Astrid Arditi’s heroic coming-of-age tale.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

If you follow my blog, you’ll know that I said I would never read this book, yet here we are! I am going to give this book a chance. If I go into it knowing I will cry, then I should be okay, right?

15507958

(Goodreads) Louisa Clark is an ordinary young woman living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has never been farther afield than their tiny villa

ge. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair-bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A love story for this generation, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Shadowsong by S. Jae. Jones

OMG! I read the first book, Wintersong, a few weeks ago and am still thinking about it! It as sooo good! I am saving this book because it’s a duloagy and I just want to savour it 🙂

30694168(Goodreads) Six months after the end of Wintersong, Liesl is working toward furthering both her brother’s and her own musical careers. Although she is determined to look forward and not behind, life in the world above is not as easy as Liesl had hoped. Her younger brother Josef is cold, distant, and withdrawn, while Liesl can’t forget the austere young man she left beneath the earth, and the music he inspired in her. 

When troubling signs arise that the barrier between worlds is crumbling, Liesl must return to the Underground to unravel the mystery of life, death, and the Goblin King—who he was, who he is, and who he will be. What will it take to break the old laws once and for all? What is the true meaning of sacrifice when the fate of the world—or the ones Liesl loves—is in her hands?

So, those are the books I would like to get to in March. I am going to try to keep to this schedule, but as you all know, it never usually happens this way. Good books always creep there way into a list, even the most well-thought out ones. Also, let’s be friends on Goodreads!

sign off

 

Follow me: Goodreads / Instagram

Advertisements

22 thoughts on “Book Queue

  1. Wow…that’s a great queue!!! How many books do you manage to get through in a month? :O! I am impressed :)! I look forwards to reading your review of Circe! 🙂 Happy Reading! x

    Like

  2. I used to kid myself that i have a queue… it got out of hand pretty quickly tho 😀
    I want to read Circe and Seven Deaths as well, but i’m not sure i manage to read them this year.

    Hope you enjoy all your books! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s